NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory California Institute of Technology JPL Home Earth Solar System Stars & Galaxies Science & Technology Bring the Universe to You JPL Email News RSS Podcast Video
Follow this link to skip to the main content

News and Events
News Board
ST icon
Office of the Chief Scientist and Chief Technologist
News and Events


Average Rating: 0 / 5 (0 ratings)
  •   star rating help
    How Do I Rate This?
    The blue stars show the average user rating for this item. To add your own rating, move your cursor over the stars to highlight them in gold, and click to show your rating. One star highlighted is the lowest rating, all five is the highest. Once you have rated an item, your rating is added to the average.
Third NASA Formal Methods Symposium
Third NASA Formal Methods Symposium

NFM 2011


Submission deadline : December 19, 2010
Notification of acceptance/rejection : January 21, 2011
Final version due : February 18, 2011
Conference : April 18-20, 2011


The NASA Formal Methods Symposium is a forum for theoreticians and practitioners from academia, government and industry, with the goals of identifying challenges and providing solutions to achieving assurance in mission- and safety-critical systems. The focus of the symposium is on formal methods, and aims to foster collaboration between NASA researchers and engineers and the wider aerospace and academic formal methods communities. The symposium will be comprised of a mixture of invited talks by leading researchers and practitioners, presentation of accepted papers, and panels.


  • Theorem proving
  • Model checking
  • Real-time, hybrid, stochastic systems
  • SAT and SMT solvers
  • Symbolic execution
  • Abstraction
  • Compositional verification
  • Program refinement
  • Static analysis
  • Dynamic analysis
  • Automated testing
  • Model-based testing
  • Model-based development
  • Fault protection
  • Security and intrusion detection
  • Application experiences
  • Modeling and specification formalisms
  • Requirements specification and analysis


Rustan Leino
Microsoft Research, USA
"From Retrospective Verification to Forward-Looking Development"

Oege de Moor
University of Oxford, UK
"Do Coding Standards Improve Software Quality?"

Andreas Zeller
Saarland University, Germany
"Specifications for Free"


Bart Jacobs
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
"VeriFast: a Powerful, Sound, Predictable, Fast Verifier for C and Java"

Michal Moskal
Microsoft Research, USA
"Verification of Functional Correctness of Concurrent C Programs with VCC"


NFM 2011 is the third edition of the NASA Formal Methods Symposium,
organized by NASA on a yearly basis. The first in 2009 and was
organized at NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, California. The
second in 2010 was organized at NASA head quarters, Washington
D.C. The symposium originated from the earlier Langley Formal Methods
Workshop series.


There are two categories of submissions:

  • Regular paper: up to 15 pages, describing fully developed work and complete results. Papers can present theory, software engineering aspects, or case studies.
  • Tool papers: up to 6 pages, describing an operational tool. The authors of accepted tool papers will give demonstrations of their tools in tool demo sessions. Tool papers should explain enhancements that have been done compared to previously published work. A tool paper does not need to present the theory behind the tool but can focus more on its features, and how it is used, with screen shots and examples.

All papers should be in English and describe original work that has
not been published or submitted elsewhere.

Submissions will be fully reviewed and the symposium proceedings will
appear as a volume in Lecture Notes of Computer Science. Papers must
use the LNCS style, and be in pdf format.


There will be no registration fee charged to participants.


Mihaela Bobaru, NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Klaus Havelund, NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Gerard Holzmann, NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Rajeev Joshi, NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory


Rajeev Alur, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Tom Ball, Microsoft Research, USA
Howard Barringer, University of Manchester, UK
Saddek Bensalem, Verimag Laboratory, France
Nikolaj Bjoerner, Microsoft Research, USA
Eric Bodden, Technical University Darmstadt, Germany
Marsha Chechik, University of Toronto, Canada
Rance Cleaveland, University of Maryland, USA
Dennis Dams, Bell Labs/Alcatel-Lucent, Belgium
Ewen Denney, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Matt Dwyer, University of Nebraska, USA
Cormac Flanagan, UC Santa Cruz, USA
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Patrice Godefroid, Microsoft Research, USA
Alex Groce, Oregon State University, USA
Radu Grosu, Stony Brook, USA
John Hatcliff, Kansas State University, USA
Mats Heimdahl, University of Minnesota, USA
Mike Hinchey, Lero - the Irish SW. Eng. Research Centre, Ireland
Sarfraz Khurshid, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Orna Kupferman, Jerusalem Hebrew University, Israel
Kim Larsen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Rupak Majumdar, Max Planck Institute, Germany
Kenneth McMillan, Cadence Berkeley Labs, USA
Cesar Munoz, NASA Langley, USA
Madan Musuvathi, Microsoft Research, USA
Kedar Namjoshi, Bell Labs/Alcatel-Lucent, USA
Corina Pasareanu, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Shaz Qadeer, Microsoft Research, USA
Grigore Rosu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Nicolas Rouquette, NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
Kristin Rozier, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
John Rushby, SRI International, USA
Wolfram Schulte, Microsoft Research, USA
Koushik Sen, Berkeley University, USA
Sanjit Seshia, Berkeley University, USA
Natarajan Shankar, SRI International, USA
Willem Visser, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
Mahesh Viswanathan, University of Illinois, USA
Ben Di Vito, NASA Langley, USA
Mike Whalen, University of Minnesota, USA


Ewen Denney, NASA Ames Research Center
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames Research Center
Klaus Havelund, NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Gerard Holzmann, NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Cesar Munoz, NASA Langley
Corina Pasareanu, NASA Ames Research Center
James Rash, NASA Goddard
Kristin Y. Rozier, NASA Ames Research Center
Ben Di Vito, NASA Langley

Site Manager:  Brian Knosp
Webmasters:  Cornell Lewis, Maryia Davis

JPL Clearance:  CL#08-4147