Awards and Recognitions

The Edward Stone Award for Outstanding Research Publication

The Edward Stone Award for Outstanding Research Publication recognizes and encourages the publication of significant research results in science and in technology/engineering by JPL employees throughout their professional careers. This distinguished award consists of a certificate of recognition and an Explorer Bonus Award of $10,000. Generally, four (4) awards are presented each year, nominally two in science and two in technology/engineering.

John Worden

For advancing the understanding of the atmospheric methane budget.

Jonathan Jiang

For elucidating the role of aerosol type and concentration in modulating convection.

Ernesto Rodriguez

For foundational work on measuring ocean currents together with near-surface wind vector.

Ken Cooper

For designing, building and demonstrating the first 183 GHz differential absorption instrument.

The Lew Allen Award for Excellence

The Lew Allen Award for Excellence is designed to recognize and encourage significant individual accomplishments or leadership in scientific research or technological innovation by JPL employees during the early years of their professional careers. The award consists of $25,000 from the JPL Research and Technology Development Fund (R&TD) to be used at JPL to enhance the professional efforts of the awardee. In addition to R&TD funds, the awardees will receive a monetary award of $10,000 and a memento. Annually, up to four (4) individuals may receive awards.

Maria Fernanda Mora

For excellence in the development and validation of chemical analysis methodology and electrophoresis instruments for future life detection missions.

Joseph Masiero

For his work in establishing the physical properties of near-Earth asteroids and the threats they pose to Earth.

Marco Lavalle

For sustained leadership in creating and advancing new Earth-science applications of Interferometric Synthetic Aperture Radar.

Davide Farnocchia

For exceptional leadership and research roles in orbit reconstruction and prediction of asteroids and comets.


The work and accomplishments of many JPL researchers has been recognized by many institutions. Awards, fellowships, and other recognitions have been bestowed on researchers across multiple fields of research.

CAL team at JPL

AIAA Space Science Award

Michael Werner

Carl Sagan Memorial Award

Andrew Klesh

Engineer of the Year Award

Sona Hosseini

Early Career Achievement Award