Professional Society Fellows

The "Fellow" distinction is bestowed by professional organizations upon individuals who are recognized as leaders in their field of research.  Only those who have made extraordinary and outstanding contributions to a scientific or technical body of knowledge -- over a lengthy career -- receive this honor.  In fact, less than 1% of those nominated for this distinction go on to receive it, as each professional organization has its own rigorous vetting and selection process.  Below is a list of JPL employees who are leaders in their fields and have been named as "Fellows" by professional organizations.  


(If your name is not included, or if the information below is incorrect, please send any related information to Shouleh Nikzad and Doug Bell.)


Acoustical Society of America (ASA)

  • Martin B. Barmatz



American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

  • Paul Dimotakis
  • David Halpern
  • Torrence V. Johnson
  • Timothy W. Liu
  • Rosaly M. Lopes-Gautier
  • John B. Rundle
  • Graeme L. Stephens
  • Michael Werner



American Geophysical Union (AGU)

  • Bonnie J. Buratti
  • Robert Carlson
  • James Famiglietti
  • Christian Frankenberg
  • Lee-Lueng Fu
  • David Halpern
  • Erik R. Ivins
  • Torrence V. Johnson
  • Ronald Kwok
  • Tim Liu
  • Dennis L. Matson
  • Gilles Peltzer
  • Eric Rignot
  • John Rundle
  • David Schimel
  • Graeme L. Stephens
  • Bruce T. Tsurutani
  • Marco Velli



American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)

  • Josette Bellan
  • John Brophy
  • Paul Dimotakis
  • Charles Elachi
  • Dan Goebel
  • Fred Y. Hadaegh
  • Friouz Naderi
  • Sergio Pellegrino



American Meteorological Society (AMS)

  • Lee-Lueng Fu
  • David Halpern
  • Timothy Liu
  • Michelle Santee
  • Graeme L. Stephens
  • Duane Waliser



American Physical Society (APS)

  • Douglas Bell
  • Curt Cutler
  • Paul Dimotakis
  • Dan M. Goebel
  • Paulett C. Liewer
  • Shouleh Nikzad
  • John Prestage
  • Thomas A. Prince
  • John Rundle
  • Michele Vallisneri
  • Barbara Wilson



American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT)

  • Yoseph Bar-Cohen



American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

  • Josette Bellan
  • Donald B. Bickler



British Interplanetary Society

  • Robert L. Staehle
  • Randii R. Wessen



British Royal Meteorological Society

  • Tim (John) Schofield
  • Joao Teixeira



California Academy of Science

  • David Halpern



Cryogenic Society of America (CSA)

  • Ron Ross



Ecological Society of America (ESA)

  • David Schimel



Geological Society of America (GSA)

  • Robert C. Anderson
  • James Famiglietti
  • Matthew Golombek
  • Rosaly Lopes



Indian Institute of Metals (IIM)

  • Vilupanur A. Ravi



Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

  • Stanley A. Butman (Communications Society)

  • Goutam Chattopadhyay (Microwave Theory and Techniques Society)

  • Dariush Divsalar

  • Steve Durden (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)

  • Charles Elachi (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Diane Evans (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Anthony Freeman (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Li Fuk (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Dan M. Goebel (Electron Devices Society)
  • Paul F. Goldsmith (Microwave Theory and Techniques Society)
  • Sarath Gunapala (Photonics Society)
  • Fred Y. Hadaegh (Control Systems Society)
  • Scott Hensley (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Eastwood Im (Geoscience & Remote Sensing; Antennas and Propagation Society)
  • Ronald Kwok (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Soren N. Madsen (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Larry H. Matthies (Robotics and Automation Society)
  • Imran I. Mehdi (Microwave Theory and Techniques Society)
  • Robert T. Menzies (Photonics Society)
  • Son V. Nghiem (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Eni G. Njoku (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Paul A. Rosen (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Jacob Van Zyl (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)
  • Vatche Vorperian
  • Sander Weinreb (Microwave Theory and Techniques Society)
  • Simon Yueh (Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society)



Institute of Navigation

  • Attila Komjathy



Institute of Materials, Minerals, and Mining (IOM3)

  • Vilupanur A. Ravi



Institute of Physics (IOP)

  • Geoffrey K. James
  • Isik Kanik



Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)

  • Ashitey Trebi-Ollennu



International Association of Geodesy (IAG)

  • Richard S. Gross



National Academy of Inventors (NAI)

  • Dan Goebel
  • Shouleh Nikzad



Royal Aeronautical Society (FRAeS)

  • Ashitey Trebi-Ollennu




  • Yoseph Bar-Cohen
  • Tien-hsin Chao
  • Sarath Gunapala
  • Pantazis Mouroulis
  • Shouleh Nikzad
  • Rajeshuni Ramesham
  • David Ting



The Optical Society (OSA)

  • Yijiang Chen
  • Sarath Gunapala
  • Steve Macenka
  • Robert T. Menzies
  • Pantazis Mouroulis
  • Michael Shao